Initial Teacher Licensure Programs

Content areas available for initial licensure at the University of Arkansas:

Explore licensure areas, program pages and contact information:

Program page: Art Education

Angela LaPorte, alaporte@uark.edu, 479-575-8749

Program page: Music Education (Both Vocal and Instrumental)

Daniel Abrahams, Abrahams@uark.edu

Program page: Special Education (both M.Ed. & B.S.E.)

Peggy Schaefer-Whitby, pschaefe@uark.edu, 479-575-3570

Program page: Physical Education 

Susan Mayes, smayes@uark.edu, 479-575-2858

Pre-MAT information, including courses required for individual programs below, are located on the Pre-MAT website.

Program page: Master of Arts in Teaching in Secondary Education

Drama /Speech, Grades 7-12 Chris Goering cgoering@uark.edu, 479-575-4270
English, Grades 7-12 Chris Goering cgoering@uark.edu, 479-575-4270
Social Studies, Grades 7-12 Jason Endacott jendacot@uark.edu, 479-575-2657
Life Science, Grades 7-12 Stephen Burgin srburgin@uark.edu, 479-575-4283
Mathematics, Grades 7-12 Laura Kent lkent@uark.edu, 479-575-8762
Foreign Language-French Freddie Bowles fbowles@uark.edu, 479-575-3035
Foreign Language-Spanish, Grades 7-12 Freddie Bowles fbowles@uark.edu, 479-575-3035
Foreign Language-German, Grades 7-12 Freddie Bowles fbowles@uark.edu, 479-575-3035

 

Program page: Career and Technical Education

Includes licensure areas: Industrial Technology, Business Technology, Family and Consumer Sciences

Technology Education (Industrial Technology), Grades 7-12, Vinson Carter, vcarter@uark.edu, 479-575-3076

Business Technology, Grades 4-12, Betsy Orr, borr@uark.edu, 479-575-6430

Family and Consumer Science Education, Grades 7-12, Sherry Deaton, sddeato@uark.edu 479-575-2581

Program page: Elementary Education

Jordyn Henry, jnhenry@uark.edu, 479-575-6860

Cindy Folsom, cfolsom@uark.edu, 479-575-7052

Program page: Adult Education

Kenda Grover, kgrover@uark.edu, 479-575-2675

Program page: UATeach

Includes Math, Physics, Chemistry, and Life Science licensure areas in a four-year program

Sheri Vaughan, svaughan@uark.edu, 479-575-2380

For endorsement areas that are available to be added to an initial license, please see the endorsement programs page.